Skip to main content

Three School of Education faculty members named to professorships

Three faculty members of the School of Education at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gregory Cizek, Catherine Marshall and Lynda Stone, have been named to professorships.

“I am delighted that we are able to recognize the achievements and service of these scholars,” said Bill McDiarmid, dean of the School of Education. “Each of them has a long track record of significant contributions to their fields, to the school and university, and to their students’ understanding of education and the rigors of educational research.”

Cizek, Marshall and Stone were honored at a reception on Nov. 7 at the Carolina Inn.

Gregory Cizek
Cizek, who joined the School of Education in 1999, has been named the school’s first Guy B. Phillips Professor. Cizek is a nationally recognized expert on testing, classroom and teacher assessment and standard setting.

Cizek earned his degrees from Michigan State University: A B.A. in elementary education, an M.A. in curriculum and instruction, and a Ph.D. in measurement, evaluation and research design. He has taught elementary and middle school grades and worked as a program manager at American College Testing Program, Inc., as a test development consultant with the Michigan Educational Assessment Program, and conducted research and performed analyses in the Michigan Senate Policy and Programs Office.

He is the author or co-author of more than 36 books, book chapters and monographs, and many articles and reports. He has provided export opinion to several panels and boards setting standards in the area of assessment, including service on the National Assessment Governing Board, the U.S. Department of Education’s National Technical Advisory Council and its Advisory Council on Education Statistics. He is serving now on the Smarter/Balanced Assessment Consortium Technical Advisory Panel.

He is an active member and this year is serving as president of the National Council on Measurement in Education, the primary U.S. organization of measurement researchers and practitioners involved in educational testing.

The professorship is named after Guy B. Phillips, a lifelong educator who served as dean of the School of Education for five years starting in 1948. This professorship was established to honor Phillips by a gift from the estate of Rose B. Byers. Byers was the wife of J.W. Byers (M.Ed. ’43), who had served for many years as superintendent of schools in Asheville.

Catherine Marshall
Marshall is the School’s second Robert Wendell Eaves Sr. Distinguished Professor.

Marshall, who joined the School in 1991, has focused her career on describing and seeking to dismantle oppressive practices, particularly those that prevent women from achieving their full potential. She has written extensively on women’s issues and has been nationally recognized for her work in the areas of feminism and social justice.

Earlier this year, her commitment to women’s issues earned her the University’s Mary Turner Lane Award, given by UNC-Chapel Hill to people who make outstanding contributions to the lives of women students, faculty, staff and administrators at Carolina.

Marshall is the recipient of the Politics of Education Association’s Stephen Bailey Award for her lifetime achievements and contributions to the field. Also, the University Council for Educational Administration gave her its Roald Campbell Award for her accomplishments over her career.

Marshall obtained her B.A. and her M.A. from the University of Rhode Island, and her Ph.D. from the University of California at Santa Barbara. Before joining Carolina, she worked as a high school social studies teacher. She became an assistant professor of education leadership at the University of Pennsylvania before also teaching at Vanderbilt and Harvard.

The professorship was established by businessman Robert Eaves Jr. in honor of his father, a life-long educator who had a long career with the National Education Association, serving as executive secretary of its Department of Elementary School Principals. Fen English is the School’s other Eaves Distinguished Professor.

Lynda Stone
Stone was named the School’s first Samuel M. Holton Distinguished Professor.

Stone joined the School of Education in 1993 after having taught social in California for 15 years, then teaching at the University of New Hampshire, Michigan State University, and Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr colleges, and serving as an assistant professor for five years at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of California at Berkeley, then two master’s degrees and a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Stone’s research interests include poststructuralist perspectives, John Dewey, feminism, and curriculum issues. She has been a prolific contributor to her field. She has edited or authored or co-authored 12 books or special journal issues and has authored more than 48 journal articles; 38 book, encyclopedia or monograph chapters; and, 15 book reviews. She is co-editing a new international book series: Contemporary Philosophers and Theories of Education.

Stone has been elected and appointed to positions in other philosophy and education organizations, including longtime service to the American Educational Research Association, the American Educational Studies Association and the John Dewey Society, which she currently serves as president.

The Samuel M. Holton Distinguished Professorship is supported by a fund established by former School of Education faculty member Samuel Holton and his wife, Margaret. Holton taught at the School for 39 years until his retirement in 1987, chairing the Social Foundations of Education program for many years and becoming was a prolific researcher and scholar.

+ Share This